Snowboarding – Whistler Blackcomb

whistlertracy_flickr
Whistler

When I started snowboarding last season I figured I would wait until I was good enough before paying some nice pennies for a lift ticket up Whistler Blackcomb. Last weekend marked my first snow trip up Whistler (the ski lesson that I apparently had there on family vacation when I was 6 doesn’t count) and all I can say is wowza, it’s a big mountain.

We were graced with a beautiful sunny day for boarding but conditions were icy since there was no new snow for the past week.  This was a bit of a bummer, and speaking of bums mine wasn’t happy with the hard icy ground. Regardless I can definitely see how Whistler is a world-class resort where thousands of visitors flock to, and had there been some fresh snow to play with during my visit I would have definitely tried to milk my lift ticket for all it was worth. The runs are long and varied, the views are absolutely phenomenal, and when you do get good snow (I managed to have some nice patches) it’s like a hot board on butter.

P1060628_flickr
Fresh patch

For a mountain this pretty the price doesn’t come cheap – full day adult lift tickets are $96CAD + tax. If you don’t ski or snowboard you can still enjoy the views from the top with a winter sightseeing ticket for $45. As a Canadian resident I got myself an Edge Card (also available for Washington State residents) that allows you to pre-pay for lift tickets at a discounted rate – as cheap as $72 for a full day lift ticket.

You can organize your whole trip online through the Whistler Blackcomb website from accommodation and travel tips to lift tickets and rentals. Speaking from experience if you ever need to change anything the customer service folks are very helpful and will try to accommodate you. So with the La Niña winter season on the way are you planning on shredding some Whistler slopes? Do it!

P1060667_flickr
View from the patio of Roundhouse Lodge

One thought on “Snowboarding – Whistler Blackcomb

  1. I love the time of year when all the new snowboard videos are released and I get to see them first at the premiers in Whistler. It always blows my mind at how far snowboarding has come and the ability these riders today have. I once was curious about how the hell they got so good but after years of trial and error I think I’ve come up with a pretty good formula for developing this ability You see there are 2 types of riders. The first group of riders are ‘naturals’, these people perform and learn snowboarding quickly because of past sports, mindset, or a combination of the two. The second group have to work to develop great snowboard ability. The best part is even the naturals have to work and even if you have no ability whatsoever hard work will always pay off!
    OutdoorPro

Leave a Reply

