“Life is either a daring adventure, or nothing.”

P1050096_flickr
On the way down from the peak of Frosty Mountain. Photo Credit: Nic

Sometimes when I tell people stories of my gallivants they give me incredulous looks of “You’re crazy…”

I’m not much of a test-the-water-by-dipping-my-toe person. I like to dive. This philosophy has given me many interesting experiences. Of course before I dive I’ll make sure it’s safe, I’m prepared, etc. I do want to still be alive and kickin’ ready for the next adventure. Another note is that I don’t really like swimming, why am I using a diving analogy? Ah I digress… My point is that we can spend all the time in the world preparing, or thinking about doing whatever that thing was you’ve been wanting to do, but it’ll never happen until we make it happen.

I came across this quote by Helen Keller which perfectly sums up the allure of taking a risk to experience the reward:

“Security is mostly a superstition. It does not exist in nature, nor do the children of men as a whole experience it. Avoiding danger is no safer in the long run than outright exposure. Life is either a daring adventure, or nothing.”

4 thoughts on ““Life is either a daring adventure, or nothing.”

Leave a Reply

